The national group stage of the Reliance Foundation Development League (RFDL) concluded this week across the Delhi, Imphal, Mumbai, and Bengaluru regions. Five teams each competed across the four zones in five rounds of matches amassing 40 games in total. The top team from each group qualifies for the PL Next Generation Cup later next month.

The national qualifiers delivered a thrilling spectacle and put up a great show with each team showing their might in their respective groups. From the Delhi region, Hero I-League side Sudeva Delhi FC qualified while ATK Mohun Bagan qualified from the Imphal zone. Down south, RF Youth Champs qualified from the Mumbai zone and Bengaluru FC qualified from the Bengaluru zone.

As these teams now gear up for the PL Next Generation Cup, we take a look at the journey of these four teams through the National Stages.

Sudeva Delhi (Delhi Region) - M:4; W:3; D:1; L:0; Pts: 10

After topping the north region of the regional qualifiers, Sudeva Delhi topped their group in the national qualifiers as well. The Delhi-based outfit were unbeaten in the group stage and netted 11 goals in the process, ranking only second across all groups and two shy of FC Goa (13 goals). Defensively, the side kept two clean sheets, second best again to FC Goa who kept one more clean sheet.

ATK Mohun Bagan (Imphal Region) - M:3; W:3; D:0; L:0; Pts: 9

After qualifying second in the East region of the regional qualifiers, the Mariners have had a splendid campaign in the national qualifiers, boasting an impeccable 100% winning record and qualifying for the PL Next Generation Cup. With nine goals in three matches, the Green and Maroons have averaged three goals per match and will be keen on maintaining their momentum in the attack.

RF Youth Champs (Mumbai Region) - M:4; W:3; D:1; L:0; Pts: 10

The Mumbai-based side have had a massive turnaround after failing to make it past the group of the inaugural edition of the RFDL last year. After a whopping 10 wins out of 10 matches in the regional qualifiers, the Arata Izumi-led side has gone unbeaten in the national qualifiers and have made it to the next round of matches. A potent attacking team known for its goalscoring prowess, the side have whipped in 13 goals in the national stage, highest among all the other teams in the national stage.

Bengaluru FC (Bengaluru region) - M:3; W:3; D:0; L:0; Pts: 9

The Blues are the only Indian team to have qualified for the PL Next Generation Cup twice. Sharing the honours with ATK Mohun Bagan, Bengaluru FC also have a 100% win record. While they faced close competition from FC Goa for the qualification spot, a 4-1 win over them proved to be a major differential.

Here’s a look at the top goalscorers from the national stage:

Sr. No




Loitongbam Taison Singh

ATK Mohun Bagan



Himanshu Jangra

East Bengal FC



Chirag Bhujel




Meuton Fernandes

Velsao Sports & Cultural Club



Serto Worneilen Kom

Classic FA



Mohammad Ajsal

Kerala Blasters FC


Here's a look at the top five goalscoring teams:

Sr. No Team Goals scored
1 RFYC 13
2 Sudeva Delhi FC 11
3 ATK Mohun Bagan  9
4 Bengaluru FC 8
5 Kerala Blasters FC 8