Players’ movement picks up pace in the transfer market ahead of Hero ISL 2021-22

Transfer ripples can be felt in the Hero Indian Super League (Hero ISL) as the teams have started strengthening their squad ahead of the 2021-22 season.

In the biggest movement on the transfer market so far, star goalkeeper Amrinder Singh, Hero ISL 2020-21 winner with Mumbai City FC, has joined 2020-21 finalists ATK Mohun Bagan after signing a five-year contract. Earlier, promising striker Liston Colaco also joined Antonio Lopez Habas’ team after impressing for Hyderabad FC in the 2020-21 season. Colaco joined the Mariners on a record fee for an Indian player.

Jamshedpur FC, after finishing sixth last season, meanwhile, have parted ways with forward Aniket Jadhav. Kerala Blasters FC, who took the 10th spot in the 11-team league last season, did the same with Lalruatthara, and the defender has now joined hands with Odisha FC after penning a two-year deal. Sebastian Thangmuansang and Sahil Panwar have also joined Odisha FC from Gokulam Kerala FC and Hyderabad FC respectively. Besides Colaco and Panwar, the other two players to have left Hyderabad FC are Laldanmawia Ralte and Kynsailang Khongsit.

In the wake of Dheeraj Singh becoming the first-choice goalkeeper for FC Goa shortly after joining the club in the 2020-21 January transfer window, Mohammad Nawaz, who kept goal in 10 matches earlier in the campaign, has bid farewell to the Gaurs.

2018-19 Hero ISL champions Bengaluru FC, meanwhile, have let go of four of their very important players ahead of the season. Rahul Bheke, who scored the lone goal in their win in the final against FC Goa in 2018-19, has left the club along with Harmanjot Khabra, Dimas Delgado and Haokip Semboi. The latter three were also part of that trophy-winning team.

Kerala Blasters FC have not been behind in the race at all and have brought in defenders Ruivah Hormipam and Sanjeev Stalin from Punjab FC and Deportivo Aves U-23s respectively. The Blasters have also parted ways with Rohit Kumar, Shaiborlang Kharpan and Ritwik Das just as Mumbai City FC have with Adam le Fondre, who scored 11 goals in their League Shield as well as Hero ISL trophy-winning campaign last season, and Bidyananda Singh.


Your Comments