Gurpreet and Jeje nominated by AIFF for Arjuna Award

Hero Indian Super League (Hero ISL) and Indian football team stars Jeje Lalpekhlua and Gurpreet Singh Sandhu have been recommended by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) for the prestigious Arjuna Award. Should they receive it, they will be the only players apart from Sunil Chhetri in the current Indian national team to do so.

Both players have been mainstays in the national team and have established themselves as two of the Hero ISL’s most recognizable faces. Gurpreet had a memorable 2018-19 campaign, where he was part of the Bengaluru FC side that emerged champions. On an individual front, he was adjudged one of the finest goalkeepers in the land and picked up the Golden Glove award.

He also represented India during the AFC Asian Cup 2019 in UAE in January. Sandhu was also fortunate enough to be a part of the squad, alongside Sunil Chhetri, for two editions of the tournament -2011 and 2019. 

Jeje Lalpekhlua, on the other hand, had a disappointing season, where his Chennaiyin FC side finished bottom of the league table. However, the Mizo sniper has played an integral role in guiding the South-Indian side to the group stages of the AFC Cup. He led his side to glory during the 2017-18 edition of the Hero ISL and currently stands as India’s second highest goal scorer in the league after Chhetri.

Your Comments