Final 22-member Indian squad for China friendly announced

After announcing a 29-member squad for the preparatory camp ahead of the historic friendly against China to take place on October 13, Indian national team head coach Stephen Constantine has picked the final 22 players who will travel to the Suzhou Olympic Sports Centre Stadium in Suzhou City.

The two national teams are going to face each other after a gap of 21 years, with their last clash happening way back in 1997 in the Nehru Cup, which China won 2-1. This is also the first time the Indian football team would be travelling to our neighbouring country for a friendly, in search of their first victory in the past 17 encounters between the two nations.

Before departure on Tuesday night, Constantine made his intentions clear while taking questions from the media, also highlighting how serious the match was going to be for India’s preparations ahead of the upcoming AFC Asian Cup 2019. "Friendly or no-friendly, it’s the India National Team. It’s only a friendly game for the world but not us," he stated.

Here’s the 22-member squad:

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Bengaluru FC), Amrinder Singh (Mumbai City FC), Karanjit Singh (Chennaiyin FC)

Defenders: Pritam Kotal (Delhi Dynamos FC), Sarthak Golui (FC Pune City), Sandesh Jhingan (Kerala Blasters FC), Anas Edathodika (Kerala Blasters FC), Salam Ranjan Singh (East Bengal), Subhasish Bose (Mumbai City FC), Narayan Das (Delhi Dynamos FC)

Midfielders: Udanta Singh (Bengaluru FC), Nikhil Poojari (FC Pune City), Pronay Halder (ATK), Rowllin Borges (NorthEast United FC), Anirudh Thapa (Chennaiyin FC), Vinit Rai (Delhi Dynamos FC), Halicharan Narzary (Kerala Blasters FC), Ashique Kuruniyan (FC Pune City)

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri (Bengaluru FC), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Chennaiyin FC), Sumeet Passi (Jamshedpur FC), Farukh Choudhary (Jamshedpur FC)

Your Comments

Related Stories