Check out ATK Mohun Bagan’s 21-member squad for the AFC Cup

Image credit: atkmohunbaganfc@Twitter

2020-21 Hero Indian Super League (Hero ISL) finalists ATK Mohun Bagan have reached the Maldives for their upcoming AFC Cup matches in Group D, South Zone. The 21-member squad landed in the archipelagic nation on Saturday evening.

Arindam Bhattacharja, Amrinder Singh, Pritam Kotal, Lenny Rodrigues, Subhasish Bose, Avilash Paul, Ashutosh Mehta, Liston Colaco, Manvir Singh, Deepak Tangri, Sumit Rathi, SK Sahil, Bidyananda Singh, Abhishek Suryavanshi, Kiyan Nassiri Giri, N Engson Singh, Ricky John Shabong, Roy Krishna and Carl McHugh, David Williams and Hugo Boumous comprise the troop under head coach Antonio Lopez Habas.

Five out of six new signings for the Mariners since the 2020-21 Hero ISL final defeat to Mumbai City FC earlier year have made it to the squad. Only Joni Kauko doesn’t feature in there. The central midfielder from Finland though was part of the camp in the build-up in Kolkata which lasted nearly two weeks. It may be noted that as per the rules, all participant clubs in the competition are allowed to have no more than four foreign players in their squad and one of these four must belong to an AFC-affiliated country. Aussie striker David Williams fulfils that criterion for the Kolkata-based team.

The Mariners kick off their campaign on August 18 (vs the winners of the play-off match between Bengaluru FC and Maldives’ Club Eagles to be played on Sunday), followed by matches on August 21 (vs Maldives’ Maziya Sports & Recreation) and August 24 (vs Bangladesh’s Bashundhara Kings). 

Your Comments