Ashutosh Mehta and CK Vineeth score in victories

Ashutosh Mehta and CK Vineeth score in victories

All 10 teams were involved in week 2 of the Hero I-League 2017 as Bengaluru FC, Mohun Bagan and Mumbai FC maintained their perfect record by making it two wins from two matches. Friday’s games saw Aizawl FC face Minerva Punjab FC at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Aizawl, while Mohun Bagan entertained Shillong Lajong FC at the Rabindra Sarobar Stadium in Kolkata.

Both host teams emerged triumphant from Friday’s encounters as Aizawl registered their first victory of the season on the back of a dramatic late winner by Ashutosh Mehta (Mumbai City FC), who nodded in a late winner from a corner after coming off the bench to give his side a 1-0 win. Mohun Bagan made it back-to-back wins courtesy of a comfortable 2-0 win over Shillong Lajong. Former FC Goa man Darryl Duffy bagged a brace with goals in either half for the Scotsman.

Saturday’s action witnessed DSK Shivajians play host to East Bengal and Bengaluru FC welcome Chennai City FC for the south Indian derby. The Kolkata heavyweights picked up their first win of the season over the Maharashtra-outfit after edging past them in a tense game that ended 2-1 at the Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Pune. They took the lead through a Wedson Anselme spot-kick in the 13th minute before Gouramangi Singh (FC Pune City) equalised for DSK in the 64th minute. Willis Plaza struck the winner ten minutes from full-time to seal maximum points.

League leaders Bengaluru FC won the first south Indian derby of the season with a 2-0 victory against Chennai City at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru. Roby Norales scored the first in the 77th minute and CK Vineeth (Kerala Blasters FC) doubled the advantage for them two minutes later. Sunday’s only match pitted Churchill Brothers against Mumbai FC at the Tilak Maidan Stadium in Vasco da Gama, Goa. Ex-Mumbai City FC midfielder Brandon Fernandes gave Churchill an early lead before Victorino Fernandes, who represented FC Goa in Hero ISL 2015, found a 34th minute equaliser. Karan Sawhney scored the winner for Mumbai during the dying minutes of the game as he made amends for an earlier penalty miss by handing his side all three points.

Your Comments