Home games in the Indian Super League (ISL) come with added pressure, as teams are expected to perform well in front of their home crowd. But many ISL clubs have embraced this pressure, using the energy from their fans to turn their home stadiums into fortresses. These teams not only consistently win at home, but they also make it challenging for visiting teams to leave with a positive result.

A perfect example of this is Odisha FC in the current season. They've earned 27 points from 11 home games, marking the highest points tally at home in a single league season.

Let's take a closer look at which teams in ISL history have the highest home win percentage, showing just how valuable a strong home-field advantage can be.

FC Goa (2019-20) - 80%

In the history of the ISL, no team has achieved a higher home win percentage than FC Goa during their stellar 2019-20 season. That year, the Gaurs not only claimed their first piece of silverware by winning the League Shield but also displayed their dominance at home.

Under the leadership of then-head coach Sergio Lobera, FC Goa topped the table with 39 points from 18 games, a remarkable five-point lead over second-place ATK FC. Their performance at the Fatorda Stadium was especially impressive, with just one defeat in 10 home games, showcasing the strength of their home-field advantage. 

Despite parting ways with Lobera ahead of the playoffs, the Gaurs' historic season will be remembered for their consistent excellence and commanding presence at home.

Odisha FC (2023-24) - 76.92%

Odisha FC had a remarkable record at home in the current ISL season, becoming the only team to remain unbeaten on their home turf at the Kalinga Stadium. This formidable home form was a key factor in their success, allowing them to become the first team of the season to secure a spot in the playoffs.

Despite a few setbacks in their away games towards the end of the season, Odisha FC's impressive home performance helped them finish fourth in the league stage. They also defeated Mohun Bagan Super Giant in the first leg of the semi-final. Throughout the season, Odisha FC won nine games and drew three at home, from a total of 12 league matches, which gave them more home points than any other ISL team in a single season.

Under the leadership of head coach Lobera, Odisha FC's unbeaten home record in the league phase is an achievement shared with only two other teams: Bengaluru FC in the 2018-19 season and Delhi Dynamos FC in the 2016 season. 

Kerala Blasters FC (2016) - 75%

Kerala Blasters FC had an outstanding 2016 ISL season, coming within a point of topping the table. They tied with Mumbai City FC for the most wins, both teams securing six victories in 14 matches. What stood out about Kerala Blasters' performance that season was their dominance at home - each of their six wins came at their home stadium.

Under the guidance of head coach Steve Coppell, Kerala Blasters turned their home ground into a fortress. They dropped points in only two of their home games during the regular season. This solid home form propelled them to the playoffs and eventually to the final, where they faced off against ATK FC. Unfortunately, despite their strong season, they lost the ISL Cup in a dramatic penalty shootout.

ATK FC (2019-20) - 75%

ATK FC had a memorable 2019-20 ISL season, culminating in their third ISL Cup victory. They defeated Chennaiyin FC, a two-time champion, in a thrilling final to clinch the trophy and further cement their legacy in the league's history.

During the league stage, ATK FC performed consistently, finishing with 34 points, just five points behind the League Shield winners, FC Goa. The Kolkata-based team secured 10 wins out of 18 games, demonstrating their strength throughout the season.

A key component of their success was their impressive home record, where they won seven out of 10 home games and suffered only two defeats. This formidable home advantage played a significant role in ATK FC's journey to the final and their ultimate victory in the ISL Cup.

Bengaluru FC (2018-19)  - 75%

Bengaluru FC had an impressive record at home during the 2018-19 ISL season under former head coach Carles Cuadrat, becoming only the second team after Delhi Dynamos to remain unbeaten at home during the league stages. They finished third in the league table that season, with eight wins out of 18 games, including seven wins at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium.

Their 2018-19 home form was a key factor in their successful campaign. In addition to that stellar season, Bengaluru FC also had strong home records during the 2017-18 and 2019-20 seasons. In the 2017-18 season, they recorded seven home wins out of 10 games, reaching the ISL final, although they suffered two home defeats. In the 2019-20 season, they once again won seven of their 10 home games, losing just once.

Besides Bengaluru FC, FC Goa (2018-19) and Kerala Blasters FC (2022-23) also achieved a home win percentage of 70% during their respective seasons.