After a season filled with excitement, passion, and relentless effort, Mohun Bagan Super Giant, Mumbai City FC, FC Goa, and Odisha FC have made it to the semi-finals of the Indian Super League (ISL) 2023-24 season.

Odisha FC and Mumbai City FC have managed to edge out Mohun Bagan Super Giant and FC Goa, respectively, taking a one-goal lead into the second leg.

With both first legs displaying football of the highest quality, the semi-finalists are poised to unleash their full potential in the second leg, vying for a place in the ISL Cup final.

Ahead of the highly anticipated second-leg clashes, which are slated for Sunday and Monday, let’s delve into some of the riveting and unforgettable ISL semi-final second legs from the past seasons.

Bengaluru FC vs Mumbai City FC - ISL 2022-23 season

In the first leg of the semi-final 1 of the 2022-23 season, Bengaluru FC clinched a narrow 1-0 victory over the League Shield winners, Mumbai City FC, courtesy of Sunil Chhetri's solitary goal.

However, the second leg was poised to reverse the tide. The Islanders began with an attacking mindset, pressuring Bengaluru FC goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu into a reckless challenge inside his own box, resulting in a penalty within the opening 10 minutes of the match.

Javi Hernandez extended Bengaluru FC’s lead on aggregate by heading home a cross from Sivasakthi Narayanan in the 22nd minute.

But the match was far from over. Just before the half-hour mark, Bipin Singh seized a rebound from Rowllin Borges' long-range effort and powered it past the keeper, reigniting Mumbai City FC's hopes.

In the 66th minute, Mehtab Singh found the back of the net with a header, levelling the scores for the Islanders on aggregate.

Despite the intense deadlock, Bengaluru FC ultimately secured their spot in the final with a nail-biting 9-8 victory on penalties, ensuring a dramatic climax to the semi-final encounter.

However, the Indian international redeemed himself with a remarkable double save, denying Greg Stewart's spot kick and then blocking Lallianzuala Chhangte's rebound attempt.

Mumbai City FC vs FC Goa - ISL 2020-21 season

Mumbai City FC, FC Goa, NorthEast United FC, and Mohun Bagan SG concluded the league season as the top four teams, securing their places in the semi-finals of the ISL 2020-21 season.

Following a 2-2 draw in the first leg, Mumbai City FC and FC Goa clashed in the second leg in Mumbai.

FC Goa dominated the majority of the match, creating numerous chances, but their failure to convert any of them forced the match into extra time.

With a 0-0 scoreline even after extra time, the match proceeded to penalties, where Mumbai City FC edged past FC Goa in sudden death, scoring six compared to the away team’s five.

Under the guidance of head coach Sergio Lobera, Mumbai City FC clinched the ISL Cup, triumphing over Mohun Bagan SG in the final and thus becoming the first team to achieve the double.

ATK FC vs Bengaluru FC - ISL 2019-20 season

ATK FC made it to the semi-final of the 2019-20 season alongside Bengaluru FC, Chennaiyin FC, and FC Goa.

In the first leg of semi-final 2 at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium, the Blues emerged as the winners with a 1-0 scoreline, courtesy of Deshorn Brown scoring the solitary goal of the match.

In Kolkata, in the second leg, the Blues increased their aggregate lead with an early goal scored by Ashique Kuruniyan. But the match was far from over.

Although Erik Paartalu thought he had doubled their lead in the 23rd minute, his goal was ruled out for offside, shifting the momentum towards the home team.

Just before the half-hour mark, Roy Krishna found ATK FC their equalizer for the night, but to survive the two-legged semi-final, the Kolkata side needed one more goal.

Not only did they survive, but with the momentum shifting in their favour, David Williams bagged a second-half brace, leading ATK FC to a 3-2 win on aggregate, with the Kolkata side eventually lifting the ISL Cup.

Bengaluru FC vs NorthEast United FC - ISL 2018-19 season

In the ISL 2018-19 season, the four semi-finalists were Bengaluru FC, Chennaiyin FC, FC Goa, and NorthEast United FC.

With Bengaluru FC and NorthEast United FC facing each other in the first semi-final, it was the Highlanders who carried a 2-1 lead into the second leg.

As the second league unfolded, the Blues were desperate to turn things around whereas NorthEast United FC were equally resilient keeping the score 0-0 till the 72nd minute. That’s when Miku tapped in Bengaluru FC’s first goal of the night, bringing the Blues right back into the game.

In the dying minutes of the match, Dimas Delgado and Sunil Chhetri scored a goal each to complete Bengaluru FC’s comeback, concluding the tie with a 4-2 win on aggregate.

Bengaluru FC went on to lift the ISL Cup following a narrow win over FC Goa in the final.

Chennaiyin FC vs Kerala Blasters FC - ISL 2014 season

The inaugural season of the ISL not only showcased big names from world football but also exhibited an exceptional level of the sport never seen before in India.

ATK FC, FC Goa, Chennaiyin FC, and Kerala Blasters FC emerged as the first teams to qualify for the ISL playoffs.

In a one-sided affair between Kerala Blasters FC and Chennaiyin FC in the first leg of semi-final 1, the Blasters registered a commanding 3-0 win over the Marina Machans.

With a final berth at stake, Chennaiyin FC were determined to make a statement when hosting Kerala Blasters FC for the second leg. And so it happened.

Chennaiyin FC dominated throughout the fixture, with Mikael Silvestre finding the opener in the 42nd minute of the match.

An own goal by Sandesh Jhingan in the 76th minute saw the score change to 2-0 in favour of Chennaiyin FC.

With the final whistle looming, in the 90th minute, Jeje Lalpekhlua bagged Chennaiyin FC’s third goal of the night, levelling the aggregate scores and forcing the game into extra time.

As both teams were running out of breath and a tie-breaker seemed imminent, Kerala Blasters FC went against the flow of the game, scoring the winning goal in the 117th minute through the legs of Stephen Pearson.

The match ended 3-1 for Chennaiyin FC but 3-4 for Kerala Blasters FC on aggregate, paving the way for the Blasters to advance to the final.

Three red cards were shown during the game, resulting in Marco Materazzi and Bojan Djordjic of Chennaiyin FC, as well as Jamie McAllister of Kerala Blasters FC, being sent off.