Scoring goals in football is often regarded as one of the most challenging feats in the sport. It requires not just individual skill but also a cohesive team effort, strategic planning, and the right combination of players working in harmony. From crafting intricate build-up play to executing clinical finishes, teams must meticulously strategize their approach to breach the opposition's defence and find the back of the net.

Since its inception in 2014, the Indian Super League (ISL) has served as a stage for footballing excellence in India. In a league where goals can often be at a premium, certain teams have distinguished themselves with their attacking flair, relentless ambition, and remarkable ability to convert chances into goals. These teams have not only entertained fans with their goal-scoring exploits but have also etched their names in the annals of ISL history through their impressive performances.

2014: Chennaiyin FC (27 goals)

Chennaiyin FC emerged as the highest-scoring team in the inaugural season of the Indian Super League, notching up 24 goals during the league stage. Led by head coach Marco Materazzi, Chennaiyin FC showcased a potent attacking lineup, combining flair, creativity, and clinical finishing. Spearheaded by the likes of Elano Blumer and Stiven Mendoza, Chennaiyin FC's attacking prowess played a pivotal role in their run to the semi-final.

2015: FC Goa (34 goals)

In the 2015 season of the ISL, FC Goa showcased their attacking prowess by netting the most goals. Under the guidance of head coach Zico, FC Goa played an attacking and aggressive brand of football. Their midfield trio of Leo Moura, Jonathan Lucca, Jofre Mateu orchestrated creative movements, while the lethal strike partnership of Reinaldo and Dudu Omagbemi wreaked havoc on defenses with their strength and clinical finishing. Despite falling short of the ISL Cup title at home to Chennaiyin FC in the final, they were arguably the most feared team in the league that season.

2016: Delhi Dynamos FC (27 goals)

In the 2016 season of the ISL, Delhi Dynamos FC emerged as the most potent attacking force, scoring the highest number of goals that campaign. Under the guidance of their head coach Gianluca Zambrotta, Delhi Dynamos FC played an electrifying style of football marked by rapid counter-attacks and decisive movements. Spearheaded by the likes of Florent Malouda and Marcelinho, the team's midfield orchestrated creative plays with precision. Upfront, Richard Gadze provided the finishing touch, combining physicality with goal-scoring prowess. Their attacking prowess saw them qualify for the playoffs but they were eventually knocked out of the semi-finals by Kerala Blasters FC.

2017-18: FC Goa (43 goals)

FC Goa continued their attacking dominance in the 2017-18 season of the ISL, amassing a staggering 43 goals throughout the campaign. Under the tutelage of head coach Sergio Lobera, FC Goa's attacking juggernaut was virtually unstoppable, as they showcased a breathtaking brand of football marked by fluid passing, domination of ball possession, and clinical finishing. Spearheaded by the prolific strike partnership of Ferran Corominas and Manuel Lanzarote, who scored 31 goals together, FC Goa's attacking duo terrorised opposition defences en route to topping the league table.

2018-19: FC Goa (41 goals)

FC Goa once again asserted their dominance as the highest-scoring team in the ISL, this time in the 2018-19 season, with an impressive tally of 41 goals, almost matching their tally from the previous season. Under head coach Lobera, FC Goa once again mesmerised fans with their dominant attacking style.

Spearheaded by Ferran Corominas, who won the Golden Boot for a second season runnng with 16 goals, FC Goa's attacking trio of Coro, Edu Bedia, and Jackichand Singh proved to be a handful for opposition defences throughout the season. Despite falling short in the final, FC Goa's attacking exploits earned them plaudits and reaffirmed their status as one of the most exciting teams in the league.

2019-20: FC Goa (51 goals)

FC Goa continued their reign as the most prolific attacking force in the 2019-20 season of the ISL, amassing a remarkable 51 goals. Into their third season under Lobera, FC Goa's attacking juggernaut was virtually unstoppable as they became the first team to lift the League Shield. Corominas missed out on winning the Golden Boot but finished as the club’s top-scorer again. The contribution of Hugo Boumous was also vital as the attacking midfielder registered 10 goals and as many assists, playing a crucial role in the team’s success as the Gaurs became the first team in the league to score over 50 goals in a season. The club parted ways with Lobera ahead of the playoffs and their journey eventually came to an end in the semi-finals. However, their record-breaking goal-scoring exploits that season left a lasting impression.

2020-21: Mumbai City FC (39 goals)

Mumbai City FC emerged as the highest-scoring team in the 2020-21 season of the ISL, netting a total of 39 goals in a historic season where they won the League Shield and the ISL Cup. Managed by former FC Goa head coach Lobera, Mumbai City FC lit up the league with their attacking approach, blending creativity, precision, and ruthlessness in front of goal. Boasting lethal attackers such as Bartholomew Ogbeche and Adam Le Fondre, Mumbai City FC's attacking prowess was a sight to behold for fans. With Hugo Boumous pulling the strings in midfield and Bipin Singh providing width and penetration on the flanks, Mumbai City FC's attacking quartet wreaked havoc on opposition defences.

2021-22: Hyderabad FC (47 goals)

Under head coach Manolo Marquez, Hyderabad FC had a remarkable season, finding the back of the net 47 times throughout the league campaign, eventually becoming ISL Cup champions.

Hyderabad FC showcased a midfield brimming with flair and creativity, featuring Joao Victor, Mohammad Yasir, and Hitesh Sharma, while striker Bartholomew Ogbeche spearheaded the attack. The Nigerian scooped the Golden Boot award that season, having netted 18 goals. Javier Siverio was also an important contributor in their success, bagging seven goals despite limited playing time.

2022-23: Mumbai City FC (54 goals)

Mumbai City FC were the team to beat during the 2022-23 season as they became an unstoppable force under head coach Des Buckingham, with the Islanders scripting multiple records. The Islanders fired 54 goals in the league stage, breaking FC Goa’s record for most goals in the league stage. Their attacking prowess saw them lift the League Shield for the second time in history. However, Mumbai City FC couldn’t replicate their attacking prowess in the semi-final as they were knocked out by Bengaluru FC.

2023-24: Mohun Bagan Super Giant (47 goals)

Mohun Bagan SG had a campaign to remember in the recently-concluded season, lifting the League Shield while narrowly missing out on the ISL Cup. There were doubts over the season at one point after a run of three straight defeats, but new head coach Antonio Habas turned it all around. He not only helped the Mariners get back on track but also transformed them into one of the most potent attacking sides in the league. Exhibiting a dynamic attacking style, characterised by swift counter-attacks and intricate play, they were hard to stop for opposition defences. Spearheaded by the trio of Jason Cummings, Dimitrios Petratos, and Armando Sadiku, Mohun Bagan Super Giant's attacking arsenal played a pivotal role in their journey to clinching the League Shield.