As the Indian Super League (ISL) 2023-24 progresses into the busy schedule of December, only three teams remain undefeated: Mohun Bagan Super Giant, FC Goa, and Mumbai City FC. FC Goa currently hold the second position in the table with 16 points from six games, while Mohun Bagan Super Giant are in the third position with 15 points from five matches. Mumbai City FC sit in fifth place on the table with 11 points from five matches.

For the Mariners and the Gaurs, this season has gifted them their best-ever starts in the ISL since its inception with both teams securing five wins thus far. 

Let’s take a look at the longest unbeaten starts for each team in an ISL season:

Mumbai City FC (2022-23) - 18 matches

In ISL 2022-23, the Islanders wrapped up their season as the ISL League Shield winners but the feat couldn't have been possible without the brilliant start to the season that they had. With 14 wins and 4 draws, their 18-match unbeaten streak is the longest unbeaten start for any team in the history of the ISL. It is also the longest unbeaten streak in ISL history.

Bengaluru FC (2018-19) - 11 matches

In Bengaluru FC’s best-ever season, in ISL 2018-19, they accomplished a remarkable achievement as they won the ISL Cup. In the process, they started their season with eight wins and three draws building their momentum through an 11-match unbeaten streak. In only their second ISL season they bagged themselves the silverware.

Jamshedpur FC (2018-19) - 7 matches

Jamshedpur FC started ISL 2018-19 with a seven-match unbeaten streak. The Red Miners bagged themselves two wins and five draws in their longest-unbeaten start in the ISL. Having failed to qualify for the playoffs, the season ended contradicting their great start. 

FC Goa (2023-24)* - 6 matches

FC Goa have witnessed their longest unbeaten start to a season in ISL 2023-24 with five victories and one draw in their first six matches. The Gaurs seem set to increase the streak further with their top-notch form so far, when they host Kerala Blasters FC on December 3, 2023, at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa.

Hyderabad FC (2022-23) - 6 matches

Hyderabad FC managed to stay unbeaten for six games at the start of ISL 2022-23. With five wins and one draw, they had their longest unbeaten start in ISL only to finish the season in second place behind Mumbai City FC.

NorthEast United FC (2019-20) - 6 matches

The Highlanders have been a part of the ISL since its inception but have still not managed to lift the silverware. In ISL 2019-20, they displayed their longest unbeaten start when after their initial six games, they managed to win two of them while ending the remaining four on level terms. Unfortunately, they never won again that season and ended the season in the ninth position. 

Mohun Bagan Super Giant (2023-24)*- 5 matches

The Mariners have also enjoyed an unbeaten start this season, securing five wins in their opening five matches under Juan Ferrando's leadership. Despite their early exit from the AFC Cup in the group stage, Mohun Bagan Super Giant look sharp in the league and aim to continue their winning streak when they host Odisha FC on December 6.

Kerala Blasters (2018-19) - 5 matches

The Blasters recorded their longest unbeaten start to a season in ISL 2018-19. They managed four draws and a win in their first five fixtures only to conclude the season in the ninth position. They only bagged a single win off the remaining fixtures that season. 

Chennaiyin FC (2021-22) - 4 matches

The two-time ISL Cup winners had a rather unsuccessful season back in 2021-22, when they finished eight on the table. But in the same season, they were undefeated in their first four matches, securing two wins and two draws, leading to their longest unbeaten start in ISL.