Fastest Hero ISL goals and where Jackichand's 56th-second strike vs ATK features in the list

FC Goa made a sensational start to their match against ATK on Thursday as Jackichand Singh stunned the two-time Hero India Super League (Hero ISL) champions with a goal in the 56th second of the match. While that quickfire strike helped the Gaurs claim an easy win, it didn’t prove to be quick enough to earn the winger the title of the fastest scorer in the history of the Hero Indian Super League (Hero ISL). However, it did earn him a spot in the top five.

Here’s a look at the five quickest goals ever scored in the Hero ISL so far and Jackichand’s standing in it.

1. Jerry Mawhmingthanga - 23 seconds (Match 49: Jamshedpur vs Kerala Blasters FC, 2018)

The fleet-footed youngster still holds the record of scoring the quickest goal in Hero ISL. A long punt upfield straight from kick-off eventually resulted in a throw-in for Jamshedpur near the Kerala box. The Miners retained possession through quick passes and Ashim Biswas found himself with the space to shoot at the edge of the box. The striker scuffed his effort, but the then 20-year-old Jerry pounced on the miscue in a flash, rounded up the Kerala goalkeeper and slotted it inside the empty net. Jamshedpur eventually, went on to register a 2-1 win in the match.

2. Chris Dagnall - 29 seconds (Match 38: NorthEast United FC vs Kerala Blasters FC, 2015)

Before Jerry stunned Kerala with his quickfire strike, it was Kerala's own player Chris Dagnall who held the record of the fastest Hero ISL strike. The English striker played a big part to start the move and nicked the ball from a NorthEast player high up the field. The former Barnsley forward played a quick pass to Josue Prieto Currais and continued his run into the box. Currias fed the ball to Antonio German down the left wing, who in turn found his fellow countryman Dagnall's run with an accurate cross. Dagnall put the finishing touches to a move he started with just 29 seconds on the clock. The Englishman went on to score again in the match as Kerala won 4-1.

3. Mohammed Rafi - 48 seconds (Match 22: FC Pune City vs Kerala Blasters FC, 2015)

The indomitable Kerala features in the list yet again. In fact, Dagnall's 29th-second strike against the Highlanders toppled his teammate Mohammed Rafi's goal from the perch of the fastest goals list. Coincidentally, the Englishman also happened to be the provider for Rafi's 48th-second headed goal against the Stallions. Dagnall played in an early cross and found Rafi, who buried his fierce header past Pune custodian Steve Simonsen. The Stallions would, however, recover from that early setback to register a 3-2 home win.

4. Wim Raymaekers - 53 seconds (Match 12: Delhi Dynamos FC vs Chennaiyin FC, 2014)

In a match featuring Juventus and Italy legend, Alessandro Del Piero, it was full-back Wim Raymaekers who made the headlines as he smashed Shylo Malsawmtluanga's pass into the top corner leaving Chennaiyin players dumbfounded in the very first season of the tournament. The Dynamos went on to win the match 4-1.

5. Jackichand Singh - 56 seconds (Match 76: FC Goa vs ATK, 2019)

The 26-year-old’s goal against the two-time Hero ISL champions comes fifth on the lucrative list. Ferran Corominas lead the Gaurs’ very first attack of the match and picked out Jackichand with a clever cut-back. Jacki hit it first time and the low drive gave Arindam Bhattacharja in the ATK goal no chance. Sergio Lobera’s men went on to win the fixture by a comfortable 3-0 margin. The goal displaced Lalrindika Ralte's 68th-second strike for ATK against Mumbai City FC back in 2016 from the top five list.

Your Comments