Indian Super League (ISL) outfits Mohun Bagan Super Giant and Odisha FC are all set to represent India in the 19th edition of the AFC Cup, which is set to take place between September 2023 and May 2024.

The AFC Cup 2023-24 will feature 36 clubs from the five AFC Zones across nine groups. The two Indian clubs will be joined by Bashundhara Kings and Maziya S&RC in Group D (South Zone) of the AFC Cup 2023-24.

Odisha FC is set to play in the continental championship for the first time in their history. They earned direct qualification to the group stages of Asia’s second-tier competition after clinching the 2023 Super Cup triumph and winning the subsequent Club play-off against Gokulam Kerala FC.

On the other hand, Mohun Bagan Super Giant emerged as the ISL Cup winners and beat Hyderabad FC in the Club play-off to secure their place in the AFC Cup qualifying round. The Mariners then cruised past Nepal’s Machhindra FC 3-1 in Preliminary Round Two and defeated Abahani Limited Dhaka of Bangladesh 3-1 in the South Asia Zone Play-off clash to book their spot in the AFC Cup group stage for a third consecutive season.

Bashundhara Kings, winners of the 2021–22 Bangladesh Premier League, will be making their fourth appearance in the AFC Cup, whereas Maziya S&RC will be making their ninth appearance in the tournament. The side from the Maldives qualified for the AFC Cup by winning the Dhirevi Premier League and the Maldives FA Cup.

The group stage matches will be played on a home-and-away round-robin basis, with the group winners qualifying for the inter-zone play-off semi-finals. Debutants Odisha FC will play their home matches at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, while Mohun Bagan Super Giant will play at the iconic Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan Stadium in Kolkata.