Stimac selects 35-man probable squad for India's World Cup 2022 Qualifiers against Oman and Qatar

India will begin their FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers campaign from September 5 with a match against Oman

Indian football team head coach Igor Stimac has named a 35-man probable squad for the upcoming FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers against Oman and Qatar. The chosen players will be taking part in the national training camp preceding the Qualifiers and Stimac will be choosing his final squad after taking into account the performances at the camp. The All India Football Federation (AIFF) announced the preliminary list on their social media handles on Monday.

To recall, the Blue Tigers have been drawn in Group E for the Qualifiers, alongside World Cup 2022 hosts Qatar, Oman, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. India's first encounter will be against Oman on September 5, 2019, followed by matches against Qatar on September 10, Bangladesh on October 15 and Afghanistan on November 14. The reverse legs will begin from November 19. You can check the full schedule here.

Stimac's initial list includes a good mix of experience and youth, with seasoned campaigners like Sunil Chhetri, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Pronay Halder, and others, being joined by youngsters like Sahal Abdul Samad, Amarjit Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Narender Gahlot, etc. However, striker Jeje Lalpekhlua, who is yet to feature under Stimac due to injuries, have been left out of the initial squad.

Here's the full list:

GOALKEEPERS: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Kamaljit Singh, Vishal Kaith

DEFENDERS: Rahul Bheke, Nishu Kumar, Pritam Kotal, Anas Edathodika, Sandesh Jhingan, Anwar Ali (Jr.), Narender Gahlot, Sarthak Golui, Adil Khan, Salam Ranjan Singh, Subhasish Bose, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Mandar Rao Dessai

MIDFIELDERS: Nikhil Poojari, Udanta Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Raynier Fernandes, Vinit Rai, Sahal Abdul Samad, Amarjit Singh, Pronay Halder, Brandon Fernandes, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Halicharan Narzary, Ashique Kuruniyan, Rowllin Borges

FORWARDS: Balwant Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Jobby Justin, Farukh Choudhary, Manvir Singh

Your Comments