Football is as unpredictable as it gets, and the eighth edition of the Hero Indian Super League (ISL) has been no different, with the champion of the Hero ISL League Winners’ Shield set to be decided on the last matchday.

With stakes being at the highest level possible, two teams: ATK Mohun Bagan and Jamshedpur FC will tussle and fight tooth and nail for the coveted trophy at the PJN Stadium in Margao, Goa on Monday evening.

The only catch being that the Mariners will have to beat the Men of Steel by a margin of two goals or more, to lift the League Winners’ Shield as the former is behind in the head-to-head record as they lost 2-1 to Jamshedpur FC earlier in the season.

The Men of Steel, on the other hand, have a convenient way to the Shield. A win or a draw will see the Owen Coyle-led side lift the trophy.

Form Guide

ATK Mohun Bagan: WDDWW

Juan Ferrando’s men boast a 15-game unbeaten run and are showing no signs of backing down, come what may. The Mariners have been resolute this season, collecting 37 points from 19 games. The Green and Maroons found their way through with a narrow 1-0 win against Chennaiyin FC in their last match.

Jamshedpur FC: WWWWW

Winning all five games in their last five matches, the Men of Steel have outdone themselves this season, knocking out every team they have faced recently. Owen Coyle’s men sit pretty at the top of the table after outwitting Odisha FC 5-1 in their last game, collecting a total of 40 points in 19 games.


Having shared the field thrice, Jamshedpur FC have got the better of ATK Mohun twice, with the latter winning one of the encounters in the last season.

Team News

ATK Mohun Bagan’s Michael Soosairaj and Abhilash Paul are not available for Monday’s game, while David Williams and Hugo Boumous are in the process of recovery from their injuries.

As for Jamshedpur FC, Mobashir Rahman is suspended.

Key Players

ATK Mohun Bagan

Joni Kauko: Despite a slow start, the Finnish midfielder has grown in stature as the season has progressed, especially in the latter part. Kauko is not a footballer with enviable skills, but a fighter in the midfield, having scored thrice and assisted six times in 17 matches so far. With the Mariners eyeing a top-spot, the Euro 2020 star will be a vital cog in the line-up.

Liston Colaco: Arguably the best Indian player this season, Liston Colaco has taken his game to the next level, having already netted eight times and assisted thrice. He is the highest goalscorer for ATK Mohun Bagan this season and it is quite possible that he adds more to the tally.

Jamshedpur FC

Greg Stewart: The footballer has already proved why he is one of the best signings in the Hero ISL 2021-22, having scored and assisted 10 times each this season. As far as the stats are concerned, he was involved in almost 50% of the total goals scored by Jamshedpur FC. With the League Winners Shield on the line, Stewart will be eager to guide his team over the line.

Ricky Lallawmawma: The side-back might not be as influential as the other players, but is an important piece of the puzzle for Coyle. Having played all the matches for the Men of Steel this term, the defender has made 50 tackles, 22 interceptions, 32 clearances and 34 blocks.

Key Stats

ATK Mohun Bagan’s happy hunting down: The Mariners have played 27 matches at the venue, having won 17 out of them, drawn six and have lost four times. On the other hand, Jamshedpur FC have won just three out of their nine matches played at the venue so far.

Greg Stewart on the cusp of shattering records: The footballer has already made a statement in the ongoing season with 20 goal contributions (10 goals + 10 assists). Ferran Corominhas is the player with the highest goal contributions (23) in a single season. The Jamshedpur FC player has an opportunity to match the record or create a new one in the upcoming game.

Match Timings and Telecast Details

Match: ATK Mohun Bagan vs Jamshedpur FC

Date: March 07, 2022

Venue: PJN Stadium, Margao, Goa

Kick-off time: 7:30 pm IST

Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Disney+Hotstar and JioTV.