Chhetri, Silva goals help Bengaluru maintain their unbeaten run

Bengaluru FC continued their strong form in Hero Indian Super League (Hero ISL) 2020-21 after a 2-1 victory over Odisha FC at the GMC Stadium in Bambolim on Thursday. Blues skipper Sunil Chhetri opened the scoring in the first half but his team were pegged back in the second half with Steven Taylor scoring the equaliser for Odisha. Cleiton Silva then scored his third goal of the season and ensured that the Blues bagged full three points.

  • Sunil Chhetri opened the scoring in the 38th minute.
  • Steven Taylor equalised for Odisha FC in the 71st minute.
  • Cleiton Silva made it 2-1 for Bengaluru FC in the 79th minute.

Bengaluru FC kicked the match off on a bright note, after a floated ball from Erik Paartalu in the second minute was hit wide by Kristian Opseth. However, it was Odisha who put the ball into the net first after Manuel Onwu was fed a beautiful through ball by Diego Mauricio. The goal, however, was ruled out for offside.

The Blues dominated the proceedings and had multiple chances to score. In the 21st minute, Ashique Kuruniyan sent the ball into the box following which multiple shots were attempted but none bore fruit for Bengaluru.

Bengaluru were finally rewarded in the 38th minute for their persistence as Sunil Chhetri created history with his 50th goal-contribution in the Hero ISL. Dimas Delgado shifted the ball to the right flank after which Harmanjot Khabra’s long delivery was headed into the top corner by the Bengaluru skipper.

Odisha began to grow into the game in the second half and created a half chance in the 59th minute. Shubham Sarangi put in a low cross to Gaurav Bora whose first attempt was blocked before the rebound was parried away by Blues custodian Gurpreet Singh Sandhu.

Odisha FC goalkeeper Arshdeep Singh made a brilliant save in the 68th minute after Udanta Singh’s pass was met by Paartalu. The powerful shot however was pushed away by the 23-year-old goalkeeper as the Blues continued their search for a second goal.

The Bhubaneswar-based club finally scored the equalising goal in the 71st minute. Winger Jerry Mawihmingthanga’s free-kick was poked into the back of the net by skipper Taylor. Bengaluru were back in the lead shortly after, following a goal from Silva. Udanta fed the ball to Deshorn Brown in the final third and the substitute passed it to the Brazilian winger who put it past Odisha custodian Arshdeep to make it 2-1 for his side.

Odisha tried but were unable to score the equaliser as the Blues registered their second consecutive win this season. Stuart Baxter’s side meanwhile remained winless this season after their fifth defeat in six games.

Hero of the Match: Cleiton Silva (Bengaluru FC)

Brazilian winger Cleiton Silva scored for the second game running for Bengaluru FC and helped his side to a solid victory over Odisha FC. Silva created three chances and scored with his only shot on target.

Other Match Awards:

Club Award – Bengaluru FC

DHL Winning Pass of the Match – Deshorn Brown (Bengaluru FC)

Watch the Match Highlights here:


Your Comments