Anas returns as Stimac names 35-member squad for Hero Intercontinental Cup

The All India Football Federation (AIFF), on Tuesday, announced the names of the 35 players selected for the national team camp for the upcoming Hero Intercontinental Cup scheduled to begin from July 7. The camp starts from June 25 and will be held in Mumbai. As suspected, head coach Igor Stimac has included a raft of young players alongside the experienced rearguard of the national team.

FC Pune City players Sarthak Golui and Nikhil Poojari are named, while there’s also room for FC Goa captain, Mandar Rao Desai. The trio wasn’t given an opportunity in Stimac’s first camp that was held just before the start of the King’s Cup in the middle of May. Experienced centre-back Anas Edathodika, who had announced his retirement after the conclusion of the AFC Asian Cup, is also on the list. Winger Ashique Kuruniyan is the other new entrant.

The exclusions from the Croat’s first camp before the King’s Cup comprises of players like Chennaiyin FC duo Dhanpal Ganesh and Germanpreet Singh, Delhi Dynamos trio Narayan Das, Bikramjit Singh and Nandhakumar Sekar, Jamshedpur FC’s Sumeet Passi, ATK’s Komal Thatal and NorthEast United FC’s Redeem Tlang.

The Hero Intercontinental Cup will be held at the EKA Arena in Ahmedabad. The Blue Tigers are the defending champions and will be looking to retain their crown while making steady progress under their new coach. They will be competing against DPR Korea, Tajikistan and Syria with the final set to be played on July 19.

Here’s the 35-member squad:

GOALKEEPERS: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Vishal Kaith, Amrinder Singh, Kamaljit Singh

DEFENDERS: Rahul Bheke, Pritam Kotal, Nishu Kumar, Anas Edathodika, Salam Ranjan Singh, Sandesh Jhingan, Adil Khan, Anwar Ali, Sarthak Golui, Narender, Subhasish Bose

MIDFIELDERS: Udanta Singh, Jackichand Singh, Nikhil Poojari, Anirudh Thapa, Raynier Fernandes, Pronay Halder, Rowllin Borges, Vinit Rai, Sahal Abdul, Amarjit Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Mandar Rao Desai, Ashique Kuruniyan, Soosairaj Michael

FORWARDS: Sunil Chhetri, Balwant Singh, Jobby Justin, Farukh Choudhary, Manvir Singh

Your Comments